The Georgetown Offense comes alive tonight, calms the Red Storm 92-67

ncaa-basketball-radford-georgetown-850x560

Yes, the Georgetown Offense works! I’ve heard it all lately. The Princeton offense needs to go and so does our coach blah blah blah. I never agreed on this one for the the simple fact of knowing the Hoyas offense is called the Georgetown offense and our guard play has been very “inconsistent.” I’ve stuck to my guns about this, and it’s made me look like a genius. I never thought it was about the type of offense the Hoyas ran but how the guards were’nt running it on “consistent” basis. It’s been about which way the Hoyas wanted to go with this. Play with a sense of urgency through “adversity,” and let’s see what happens.

Do the Hoyas want to put a more reliable point guard on the ball who makes better decisions “consistently” or do you want play “inconsistent” basketball with indecisive point guard play. I think tonight the Hoyas made the decision to play, smart, and tough basketball. The ball and player movement were in motion. The precision at times was amazing. The Hoyas played unselfish basketball (17) assists. What a way to get back on track tonight. I know people are saying, “hey it’s only St. John’s,” but it’s not about them it’s about the Hoyas, and they way they need to be playing right now.

I got this “retweet and “like” on Twitter  from Coach Steven Lavin:

Steve Lavin liked your Tweet
I know coach @SteveLavin64 is seeing the diff in the ‪#‎Hoyas‬ guard’s play tonight, decision making, clock mgmt. & attacking the hoop! ‪#‎FS1‬

Steve Lavin Retweeted you
I know coach @SteveLavin64 is seeing the diff in the #Hoyas guard’s play tonight, decision making, clock mgmt. & attacking the hoop! #FS1

I had been focusing on the Hoyas guard’s decision making. It wasn’t “consistent” guard play at tall. It was frustrating to the big men because they weren’t getting the touches when and where they wanted the ball, but tonight was a different story. You had someone on the ball, first, looking into the post. A guard’s first look should always be into the post. Although the Hoyas had 14 turnovers, they had 9 steals.

The Hoyas outrebounded St. John’s 40-27. The old blue and gray shot 10-22 45.5% from 3 point range. The bench combined for 38 points! The Peakshow came to town tonight inside of the phone booth. He was fierce (20 pts. 6 rebs. 4 asts. & 1 stl.). The Peakeurostep and Peakdunk were all in one funk!

 

HE’S BACK! Copeland goes in with 23 points tonight. We’ve been missing Copeland for sometime now, but I think the patience has paid off. I know and understand this is college life/development and sometimes it’s not going to go our way just because. I always know to expect the unexpected with my squad of our respect, thoughtfulness and consideration. Copehope had 8 rebounds and shot 8-11 tonight.

The senior D’Vauntes Smith-Rivera (24 pts.) stepped to the side, (I think this takes a tremendous amount of pressure off of DSR. He let the young Hoyas do their thing, and still came out on top. He let the game come to him. When senior star players do this their team normally wins. DSR only had two turnovers. He went 9-10 from the free throw line. He was in attack mode.

Reggie Cameron knocked down two three pointers (2-5) and had 5 rebounds, 4 assists and one steal. Reggie always seems to make great passes especially into the post players. Please, Hoya fans do me a favor, and leave the Georgetown offense alone, it’s a sight for all eyes to see when it’s properly ran. Great “consistent, tough and smart,” guard play makes all the difference in the world, and I don’t care if you’re playing a less fortunate or great team. Basketball is basketball. Hoya Saxa!

 

gh

 

 

 

 

Standard

Leave a comment